knoxville news
knoxville daily sun menu knoxville news business knoxville real estate knoxville sports knoxville jobs travel knoxville automotive knoxville lifestyle knoxville entertainment shopping religion volunteer finance email alerts knoxville daily sun knoxville weather education opinion advertise yellow pages smoky mountains daily sun facebook twitter rss reed health classifieds

2011-2012 GSAC Men's Basketball Conference Awards Announced

gsac mens basketball

DECATUR, Ga.-- The Great South Athletic Conference announces its 2011-2012 men's basketball All-Conference awards with Milton Stanley of Maryville being named Player of the Year, LaGrange's Kyron Anderson as Freshman of the Year and first year coach of LaGrange Kendal Wallace as the Coach of the Year after leading his team to a GSAC regular season championship.

The two time GSAC Player of the Week, Stanley keeps Player of the Year in Maryville's possession after former teammate Eryk Watson won the honor last season. Stanley was impressive for the Scots on the hardwood during the 2011-2012 year, finishing second in the conference in points per game at 17.2 and assists with 3.2.

MC's freshman point guard Christian Ford, a native of Indianapolis, Indiana, also earned All-GSAC honors after averaging 10.8 points a game while recording 84 assists and shooting over 43% from beyond the arc in his first collegiate season. Ford was also named to the league's All-Freshman team.

Having a breakout freshman season for LaGrange, Anderson was a catalyst in helping the Panthers to the regular season conference championships. Topping the list of several GSAC stats, Anderson finished first in conference in points (18.3), assists (3.7) and steals (2.4).

In his first year at the helm of the Panthers program, Wallace has earned the coveted Coach of the Year honors. Leading LaGrange to a 6-2 record in conference, the tournament host gets the top seed for this weekend's tournament and will face off with Huntingdon for a shot at the GSAC tournament title.

2011-2012 Men's Basketball Conference Awards:

Player of the Year- Milton Stanley (MC)
Freshman of the Year- Kyron Anderson (LC)
Coach of the Year- Kendal Wallace (LC)

Milton Stanley (MC), Jeremiah Thomas (HC), Kyron Anderson (LC), Jason Varney (HC), Callum Sears (CC), Josh Haymore (PC), Christian Ford (MC), Marcus Vaughn (LC)

Kyron Anderson (LC), Christian Ford (MC), Jessie Jenkins (PC), Colton McGriff (CC)

Covenant-Callum Sears, Jon DeVries, Nathan Frierson

Huntingdon- Mike Kilpatrick, Cody Tackett

Maryville- Wes Lambert, Donald Rucker

Piedmont- Tracey Gardner, Josh Haymore, Michael Ross, Aaron Thrams

Covenant College: Zarome Lakey

Huntingdon College: Mike Kilpatrick

LaGrange College:Sanders Dorough

Maryville College:Donald Rucker

Piedmont College:Josh Chapman

Published January 24, 2012

Share |

Subscribe to Knoxville Daily Sun

knoxville daily sun Knoxville Daily Sun
2011 Image Builders
User Agreement | Privacy Policy