knoxville news
knoxville news knoxville daily sun lifestyle business knoxville sports travel knoxville classifieds knoxville jobs knoxville legal notices knoxville yellow pages smoky mountains contact facebook twitter linkedin rss entertainment knoxville advertising

Eight apply for 4th Judicial District Circuit Court opening

NASHVILLE – The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will consider eight applicants when it meets August 24, 2017 in Dandridge to select nominees for the Circuit Court vacancy in the 4th Judicial District – Cocke, Grainger, Jefferson, and Sevier Counties.

The vacancy was created by Judge Ben W. Hooper II who announced that he is retiring effective August 31, 2017.

The applicants are:

Jeremy Dane Ball - Dandridge
Keith E. Haas - Sevierville
James R. Hickman, Jr. - Sevierville
Charles Scott Justice – Jefferson City
Carter Scott Moore - Cosby
Melissa Moore – Sevierville
Barry H. Valentine – Sevierville
Nella Robin Vargas - Blaine

The Trial Court Vacancy Commission will interview the applicants on Thursday, August 24, 2017, at the Jefferson County Justice Center, 767 Justice Center Drive, Dandridge, TN 37725. The meeting will include a public hearing starting at 9:00 a.m. EDT, during which anyone may express their opinions in opposition to the applicants. The public hearing followed by the interviews will be open to the public.

The Commission is expected to vote immediately following the interviews and forward three names to Gov. Bill Haslam for his consideration.

Completed applications of all the candidates can be found on

Published August 10, 2017

knoxville daily sun Knoxville Daily Sun
2017 Image Builders
User Agreement | Privacy Policy