knoxville daily sun
knoxville news knoxville daily sun lifestyle business knoxville sports travel knoxville classifieds knoxville jobs knoxville legal notices knoxville yellow pages smoky mountains contact facebook twitter linkedin rss entertainment knoxville advertising

Haslam Requests Presidential Disaster Declaration for 13 Counties

NASHVILLE – Tennessee Gov. Bill Haslam has asked President Obama to declare 13 East and Middle Tennessee counties eligible for the federal public assistance programs for local governments following the storms and flooding that began Feb. 28, 2011.

The counties include: Fentress, Franklin, Grainger, Hamilton, Houston, Humphreys, Jackson, Jefferson, Moore, Morgan, Pickett, Scott and Union. A request for disaster loan assistance for individuals and small businesses in Knox County, and the contiguous counties of Anderson, Blount, Grainger, Jefferson, Loudon, Roane, Sevier and Union, has been sent to the U.S. Small Business Administration.

"I want to thank local governments for working with the Tennessee Emergency Management Agency to quickly complete the preliminary damage assessments necessary for these requests," said Haslam. "The assistance that FEMA and the SBA can provide will be very welcome as communities work towards full recovery."

As a result of the flooding and storm damage, preliminary damage assessments estimate that approximately $9.6 million of costs that are eligible for federal assistance under the Stafford Act have or will be incurred by state and local governments and public utilities.

Published March 19, 2011

Share |

Subscribe to Knoxville Daily Sun

knoxville daily sun Knoxville Daily Sun
2011 Image Builders
User Agreement | Privacy Policy