knoxville daily sun
knoxville news knoxville daily sun lifestyle business knoxville sports travel knoxville classifieds knoxville jobs knoxville legal notices knoxville yellow pages smoky mountains contact facebook twitter linkedin rss entertainment knoxville advertising

Library of Congress Presents the National Jukebox

By Jeaneane Payne

Historical sound recordings are now available to the public free of charge. The National Jukebox, the Library of Congress provide The National Jukebox which features recordings from its own extraordinary collections along with those from other libraries and archives.

Sony Music Entertainment has granted the Library of Congress a license to stream acoustical recordings.

The Jukebox now includes over 10,000 recordings made by the Victor Talking Machine Company between 1901 and 1925. Columbia, OKeh, and other companies will contribute to the Jukebox as well. Some of the recordings include the Arthur Pryor's Band and Frank C. Stanley's Rocked in the Cradle of the Deep.

To view the National Jukebox collection, visit

Published July 28, 2011

Share |

knoxville daily sun Knoxville Daily Sun
2011 Image Builders
User Agreement | Privacy Policy